Skip to content

Satilla Riverkeeper!

March 1, 2017

Georgia River Network is excited to share the news about our new Satilla Riverkeeper – Laura Early!
“I am grateful and honored for the opportunity to serve as the next Satilla Riverkeeper. As a South Carolinian, my first encounter with the Satilla River watershed was as a sea turtle technician on Cumberland Island. I was captivated by the ecosystems, history, and communities of coastal Georgia, and this region has never really let me go. I worked with extension programs at the University of Florida and Clemson University, as well as a small nonprofit in Sanibel, Florida before I returned to the Georgia coast as a naturalist on Little St. Simons Island. As my understanding of the region grew, I recognized the vital connections between the rivers and coastal ecosystems–and the people that depend on them. To become better equipped to protect these important resources, I decided to enter an interdisciplinary graduate school program at the University of Georgia. I earned my Masters of Science in Conservation Ecology and Sustainable Development in 2016, in which my research focused on environmental impacts of land use changes in the Satilla watershed. I am elated to return to coastal Georgia after a year in Washington, DC where I have worked in NOAA’s National Sea Grant Office. I love this area and all that it has to offer, and I am excited to get know and work with all of you as I transition into my new role in February.
Sincerely,
Laura Early, your Satilla Riverkeeper”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

